Skip to content Skip to footer

Validierungsprojekt: Nutzen digitaler Zwillinge für den Ausbau der Stromverteilernetze

Die Klimaziele und der damit verbundene dynamische Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien bringt die Verteilernetze fortwährend an die Grenzen der Belastbarkeit. Datengetriebene digitale Verfahren ersetzen konventionelle Ansätze für Netzplanung und Betrieb, damit Netzbelastungen frühzeitig erkannt, Netzinvestitionen optimiert und am aktuellen Bedarf ausgerichtet werden. Die Energiewende führt zum Digitalen Wandel in den Verteilernetzen.

So startet auch Salzburg Netz eine Initiative zur Validierung des digitalen Zwillings. In einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit GridData und Kontron Technologies erstellt der GridData DigitalTwin ein digitales Abbild des Stromverteilernetzes. Ein Teilnetz mit hoher Dynamik aufgrund umfangreicher Einbindung von erneuerbaren Energien bietet dafür die ideale Basis. Das Eröffnungsmeeting zur Festlegung der Projektziele, Projektorganisation und der technischen Umsetzung fand am 7. Juni 2024 statt.

The project team in Salzburg

Das Projektteam mit David Grubinger (SALZBURGNETZ), Engelbert Detter (Kontron Technologies), Sandra Renner (SALZBURGNETZ), Max Eichelseder, Hans-Peter Schwefel (beide GridData)

Der GridData DigitalTwin ist ein aus Mess- und anderen Daten automatisiert erstelltes aktuelles Netzabbild und verknüpft reale Messdaten von Anschlusspunkten aus dem Verteilernetz und der Trafostation. Durch automatisierte Verfahren unter Verwendung spezieller Algorithmen entsteht ein, der Realität hochgradig angenähertes, zeitreihenbasiertes Netzmodell. Die Intelligenz des Netzmodells erlaubt zudem mit einer eingeschränkten Menge an Messdaten die Ableitung der physikalischen Größen auf Netzsegment- oder Kabelebene. Mit “Was-wäre-wenn”-Szenarien im Netzmodell können Netzbetreiber für neue Kundenanschlüsse, für erforderliche Netzerweiterungen oder für Änderungen der Topologie schnell Entscheidungen treffen.

Kernziel des Projekts ist der Vergleich konventionell eingesetzter Verfahren zur Netzbewertung mit den Ergebnissen des Netzmodells aus dem DigitalTwin. Der Fokus beim Vergleich der Verfahren mit dem DigitalTwin liegt auf:

  • Effizienzsteigerung in der Planung
  • Beschleunigte Erkennung von Netzengpässen
  • Erkennung und Minimierung von Spannungsbandverletzungen
  • Zeitlicher Verlauf der Netzlast pro Netzsegment
  • Vergleich der Anschlussbewertung mit heute eingesetzten Verfahren
  • Rückschlüsse ziehen auf die Qualität der Netzdaten
three tiered core provides graphical interfaces as well as programming interfaces; automation of data input and model calculation is key

Durch den Einsatz des DigitalTwin wird erwartet, dass die Investitionen ins Netz gezielter steuerbar sind und in einzelnen Teilnetzen weniger Investitionen erforderlich sind, trotz dezentralem Erzeugerwachstum und sich veränderndem Verbrauchsverhalten.

Die Nutzung eines digitalen Zwillings wie dem GridData DigitalTwin soll den Verteilernetzbetrieb fit für die Zukunft machen.

Dieses Projekt wird im Zuge des Renewable-Energy-Solutions-Programms der Exportinitiative Energie des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz gefördert.

Subscribe for the newsletter!

Skip to content Skip to footer

Validation Project: The Benefits of Digital Twins for the Expansion of Electricity Distribution Grids

The climate targets and the associated dynamic expansion of renewable energies are constantly pushing distribution grids to the limits of their capacity. Data-driven digital processes are replacing conventional approaches to grid planning and operation so that grid loads can be identified at an early stage, grid investments optimized and aligned with current demand. The energy transition is leading to digital change in the distribution grids.

Salzburg Netz is therefore launching an initiative to validate the digital twin.  In a joint project with GridData and Kontron Technologies, the GridData DigitalTwin is creating a digital image of the electricity distribution grid. A sub-grid with high dynamics due to the extensive integration of renewable energies provides the ideal basis for this. The kick-off meeting to define the project objectives, project organization and technical implementation took place on 7 June 2024.

The project team in Salzburg

The Project Team: David Grubinger (SALZBURGNETZ), Engelbert Detter (Kontron Technologies), Sandra Renner (SALZBURGNETZ), Max Eichelseder, Hans-Peter Schwefel (both GridData)

The GridData DigitalTwin is an up-to-date grid image created automatically from measurement and other data and combines actual measurement data from connection points in the distribution grid and the transformer station. Automated processes using domain-specific algorithms create a time-series-based grid model that closely approximates reality. The intelligence of the grid model also allows the physical variables to be derived at grid segment or cable level with a limited amount of measurement data. With “what-if” scenarios in the network model, network operators can make quick decisions for new customer connections, necessary network expansions or topology changes.

The core objective of the project is to compare conventionally used methods for network evaluation with the results of the network model generated within the DigitalTwin.  The focus when comparing the methods with the DigitalTwin is on

  • Increased efficiency in planning
  • Accelerated detection of grid bottlenecks
  • Detection and minimization of voltage band violations
  • Temporal progression of the grid load per grid segment
  • Comparison of connection evaluations with currently used methods
  • Drawing conclusions about the quality of the grid data
three tiered core provides graphical interfaces as well as programming interfaces; automation of data input and model calculation is key

By using the DigitalTwin, it is expected that investments in the grid can be controlled in a more targeted manner and that fewer investments will be required in individual sub-grids, despite decentralized growth in generation and changing consumption patterns.

The use of a digital twin such as the GridData DigitalTwin is intended to make distribution grid operation fit for the future.

This project is supported by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action as part of the Renewable Energy Solutions Programme of the German Energy Solutions Initiative.

Subscribe for the newsletter!